New Jersey DWI Lawyers
New Jersey Drinking & Driving Defense Attorneys
At the Moriarty Law Firm, we have spent decades defending clients against DWI/DUI charges throughout all areas of New Jersey. Every client is unique to us, and as a result, we spend a lot of time getting to know our clients and the intricacies of each unique case. We understand that defending a DWI case in New Jersey is about more than just a plea agreement. We also understand that we are defending real people with real lives. We do everything in our power to defeat your charges and win your case, as simple as that.
If you have been charged with a DWI or DUI anywhere in New Jersey, call 732-842-7773 anytime to speak with one of the Moriartys and schedule a free initial consultation. You can also contact us by e-mail. We will respond immediately and look forward to speaking with you.
Understanding the DWI Charges You Are Facing
We believe that an informed client is our best ally in the defense of a Driving While Intoxicated charge. The essential elements of a DWI in New Jersey, governed by N.J.S.A. 39:4-50 , are:
- The Traffic Stop
- Proof of Operation of the Vehicle
- Proof of Intoxication which can include
- Death by Auto (Vehicular Homicide)
Fighting Your Drunk Driving Charges- How We Do It:
First Offense, Second Offense, Third Offense, it doesn't matter! Every case we handle employs its own unique set of strategies. We seek out the technical weaknesses in the charges against you.
We begin this process by looking at the Motor Vehicle Stop. Was it lawful? How was the determination made that you exhibited signs of intoxication? What method was used to determine your Blood Alcohol Content (BAC)? If field sobriety tests were used, were they performed properly? Was everything done by the police accurately and according to New Jersey law to determine your BAC?
We have an established comprehensive review process that we undertake for each DWI case. This includes a comprehensive and thorough review of all police reports, lab results, Alcotest results, videos etc.. This enables us to identify key issues and defenses, a method which we have used to successfully defend DWI cases for our clients for many years.
New Jersey's Driving While Intoxicated Penalties
Penalties for drunk driving in New Jersey vary depending on the number of offenses and sometimes your BAC level. These penalties vary for:
- First Offense DWI
- Second Offense DWI
- Third or Subsequent DWI Offense
- Breath or Blood Test Refusal
- Underage DWI
- Out of State Residents/Drivers Charged with DWI in New Jersey
- Out of State Drunk Driving Convictions
- Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ) in Drunk Driving Cases
- New Jersey's Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC)
Call us 24 hours a day, 7 days a week to handle your DWI matter. We can be reached anytime by calling 732-842-7773. You can also contact us by e-mail for a free consultation.