Other Drug Charges
Defending drug charges throughout New Jersey, no matter how minor or how serious, is what we at the Moriarty Law Firm do. We have built a reputation on fast, effective defense of drug charges in all counties in NJ, including Monmouth, Middlesex, Ocean and Mercer counties. Have you been charged with possession of marijuana, cocaine, meth, LSD, or any other drug in the State of New Jersey? Please contact our office at your convenience for a free initial consultation. (732) 842-7773 or by email.New Jersey Drug Lawyers: LSD Charges and Offenses
The New Jersey statute governing LSD possession and distribution is N.J.S.A. 2C:35-5 which provides in pertinent part:
2C:35-5. Possession with the intent to distribute
a. It shall be unlawful for any person knowingly or purposely:
(1) To manufacture, distribute or dispense, or to possess or have under his control with intent to manufacture, distribute or dispense, a controlled dangerous substance or controlled substance analog; or
(2) To create, distribute, or possess or have under his control with intent to distribute, a counterfeit controlled dangerous substance.
b. Any person who violates subsection a. with respect to:
(6) Lysergic acid diethylamide (LSD), or its analog, in a quantity of 100 milligrams or more including any adulterants or dilutants, or phencyclidine, or its analog, in a quantity of 10 grams or more including any adulterants or dilutants, is guilty of a crime of the first degree. Except as provided in N.J.S. 2C:35-12, the court shall impose a term of imprisonment which shall include the imposition of a minimum term, fixed at, or between, one-third and one-half of the sentence imposed by the court, during which the defendant shall be ineligible for parole. Notwithstanding the provisions of subsection a. of N.J.S. 2C:43-3, a fine of up to $ 500,000.00 may be imposed;
(7) Lysergic acid diethylamide (LSD), or its analog, in a quantity of less than 100 milligrams including any adulterants or dilutants, or where the amount is undetermined, or phencyclidine, or its analog, in a quantity of less than 10 grams including any adulterants or dilutants, or where the amount is undetermined, is guilty of a crime of the second degree;
As you can see, the charges and penalties involved depend on the amount of LSD in your possession. If the amount is more than one hundred (100) milligrams, it is considered a first degree offense. If the amount is less than one hundred (100) milligrams, the charge is graded as a second degree offense.New Jersey Methamphetamine Lawyers: Possession and Distribution
Generally, methamphetamine possession charges are governed by N.J.S.A. 2C:35-10 which provides in pertinent part:
2C:35-10. Possession of Methamphetamine
a. It is unlawful for any person, knowingly or purposely, to obtain, or to possess, actually or constructively, a controlled dangerous substance or controlled substance analog, unless the substance was obtained directly, or pursuant to a valid prescription or order form from a practitioner, while acting in the course of his professional practice. Any person who violates this section with respect to:
(1) A controlled dangerous substance, or its analog, classified in Schedule I, II, III or IV other than those specifically covered in this section, is guilty of a crime of the third degree except that, notwithstanding the provisions of subsection b. of N.J.S.2C:43-3, a fine of up to $ 35,000.00 may be imposed;
As a result, possession of methamphetamine is typically graded as a third degree offense in New Jersey. However, if you are caught with significant amounts of meth you may also be charged with possession with intent to distribute under N.J.S.A. 2C:35-5. For additional information, please contact the criminal defense attorneys at the Moriarty Law Firm for immediate assistance.We Handle All Types of Criminal Charges
Criminal charges can be brought in either the Municipal or Superior court. The more severe the criminal charges the more likely they are to be handled in Superior Court, while minor charges are typically resolved in Municipal Court. We have a well deserved reputation for being the best in both arenas.
The severity of your charges is a determination made by the State and is usually based on a variety of factors. Penalties will vary based on the degree of the crime and whether or not there was a criminal conspiracy involved.
Call (732) 842-7773 to speak with one of the Moriartys 24 hours a day, 7 days a week to discuss your charges or you can contact us by e-mail to schedule a free initial consultation..
If you have been arrested with any illegal drug in any quantity, it’s very important that you hire a qualified defense attorney to represent you. You can speak with an attorney at our firm 24 hours a day by calling (732) 842-7773 or you can contact us by e-mail to schedule a free initial consultation.