Receipt of Stolen Property
When you have been charged with receipt of stolen property, shoplifting, robbery, and burglary anywhere in New Jersey, you are facing serious consequences. we handle these types of matters all over New Jersey including Monmouth, Middlesex, Ocean, Mercer, Somerset, Union, and Essex County, NJ. Call us today at (732) 842-7773, the first consultation is always free. We are here to assist you.New Jersey Receipt of Stolen Property Law: N.J.S.A. 2C:20-7
Charges for receipt of stolen property in New Jersey are governed by N.J.S.A. 2C:20-7 which reads:
§ 2C:20-7. Receiving stolen property
a. Receiving. A person is guilty of theft if he knowingly receives or brings into this State movable property of another knowing that it has been stolen, or believing that it is probably stolen. It is an affirmative defense that the property was received with purpose to restore it to the owner. “Receiving” means acquiring possession, control or title, or lending on the security of the property.
b. Presumption of knowledge. The requisite knowledge or belief is presumed in the case of a person who:
(1) Is found in possession or control of two or more items of property stolen on two or more separate occasions; or
(2) Has received stolen property in another transaction within the year preceding the transaction charged; or
(3) Being a person in the business of buying or selling property of the sort received, acquires the property without having ascertained by reasonable inquiry that the person from whom he obtained it had a legal right to possess and dispose of it; or
(4) Is found in possession of two or more defaced access devices.Penalties for Receipt of Stolen Property in New Jersey
The penalties for receipt of stolen property depend on the value of the merchandise involved. These grading penalties are the same as the New Jersey Shoplifting Statute. If the merchandise is valued over $75,000, this is a second degree crime. If the merchandise is worth over $500 but less than $75,000, this is a third degree crime. If the merchandise is worth at least $200 but less than $500, this is a fourth degree offense. Finally, if the merchandise is worth less than $200, this is a disorderly persons offense in New Jersey. For additional information, please contact the Moriarty Law Firm for assistance.We Handle All Criminal Charges
Theft, fraud, shoplifting and other charges can be handled in either Municipal or Superior court. The more severe the criminal charges the more likely they are to be handled in Superior Court, while minor charges are typically resolved in Municipal Court. We have a well deserved reputation for being the best in both arenas.
The severity of your charges is a determination made by the State and is usually based on the value of the stolen property and the amount of force used in taking the property. For example, a robbery involving assault or the threat of force with a deadly weapon will carry much more severe penalties than a burglary or home break-in. Penalties for fraud offenses will often vary depending on the amount of money involved and whether or not there was a criminal conspiracy involved.
Call (732) 842-7773 to speak with one of the Moriartys 24 hours a day, 7 days a week to discuss your charges or you can contact us by e-mail to schedule a free initial consultation.