Child Molestation

Megan’s Law in Sex Offender Cases

Have you or someone you know been charged charged with aggravated sexual assault, endangering the welfare of a minor or any other sex crimes anywhere in New Jersey including in Tinton Falls, Middletown, Woodbridge, Piscataway, and New Brunswick, NJ? If so, contact us immediately at (732) 842-7773 to begin to defend your rights and reclaim your life.

Megan’s Law in New Jersey Sex Crime Cases

Megan’s Law was passed and became effective on October 31, 1994 and applies if a criminal defendant is convicted, adjudicated delinquent, or found not guilty by reason of insanity to any of the following criminal offenses or an attempt to commit any of the following:

  • Aggravated Sexual Assault
  • Sexual Assault
  • Aggravated Criminal Sexual Contact
  • Kidnapping (where the victim is less than sixteen (16) years old)
  • Endangering the Welfare of a Minor by Engaging in Sexual Contact with a Minor
  • Endangering the Welfare of a Minor by knowingly receiving for the purpose of selling, knowingly sells, procures, manufactures, gives, provides etc. through any means (including the internet) any photos, films, videos, etc. which depict a child engaging in a prohibited sexual act or in the simulation of such an act
  • Luring or Enticing a Minor
  • Criminal Sexual Contact (if the victim is under the age of eighteen (18))
  • Kidnapping (where the victim is under 18 and the offender is not the parent)
  • Criminal Restraint (where the victim is under 18 and the offender is not the parent)
  • False Imprisonment (where the victim is under 18 and the offender is not the parent)
  • Termination of Registration and/or Parole Supervision

Removal From Megan’s Law

Under New Jersey law, after fifteen (15) years, sex offenders can move to terminate the obligation to register and/or be released from parole supervision, if they can show no subsequent convictions and that they are no longer a threat to others. Megan’s Law became effective on 10/31/94 so many convicted sex offenders will be able to file a motion with the court to terminate their registration beginning in 2009. and many sex offenders may attempt to terminate their registration. The Public Defender’s office is not allowed to file these motions so these defendants must hire a private attorney to file these motions with the court.

Community Supervision for Life in New Jersey

If the offender was convicted for any of the following offenses and the offense occurred after October 31, 1994 (when Megan’s Law became effective) but before January 14, 2004, then Community Supervision for life will apply:

  • Aggravated Sexual Assault
  • Sexual Assault
  • Aggravated Criminal Sexual Contact
  • Kidnapping (N.J.S.A. 2C:13-1(c)(2) ONLY)
  • Endangering the Welfare of a Minor by engaging in sexual conduct with a minor (N.J.S.A. 2C:24-4(a) ONLY)
  • Luring or Enticing a Minor

You can call (732) 842-7773 anytime, 24 hours a day, to speak with a lawyer at our office. You may also contact us by e-mail to schedule your free initial consultation.

Client Reviews

The attorneys of The Moriarty Law Firm are the best criminal defense lawyers in New Jersey. I can see how the over 50 years of combined experience between this family led law firm has initiated the consideration by many, as being one of the top law firms in the US. From the moment I called for a...

Jeremy Thomas

Kevin is professional, knowledgeable, compassionate and he gets the job done. Being a legal sceptic (I used to think they were all crooks) Kevin restored my faith in attorneys. If you have a serious matter, you want Kevin to represent you.


I hired Mr. Moriarty for a delicate professional matter and was very happy with the entire experience. Both he and his support staff were easy to deal with and ultimately, we won!


Contact Us

  1. 1 Free Consultation
  2. 2 Available 24/7
  3. 3 All Criminal and Injury Cases
Fill out the contact form or call us at (732) 842-7773 to schedule your free consultation.