Monmouth Bar Association
ADC - Badge
10 Best Attorney Badge
New Jersey State Bar Association
New Jersey Supreme Court

Intoxicated Driver Resource Center

Have you been charged charged with driving under the influence (DUI), driving while intoxicated (DWI), and driving while suspended in New Jersey? We handle matters all over the state including in Brielle, Sea Bright, Sea Girt and Oceanport, Belmar, Highlands and Long Branch. Call us today at (732) 842-7773 to discuss your case, free of charge..

New Jersey’s Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC)

If you have been convicted of a drunk driving offense in New Jersey, you will be required to attend the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC) as part of your sentence. If you are a first time offender, you will be sentenced to a minimum of twelve (12) hours in the IDRC. If you are a second time offender, you will be sentenced to a minimum of fourty-eight (48) hours in the IDRC. If you are a third time offender, you will be sentenced to 180 days in jail (half of which can be served at an inpatient rehabilitation facility). When you are released from jail or rehab, you must submit to a twelve (12) hour IDRC evaluation.

The authority for IDRC comes from section (f) of the DWI statute in New Jersey, N.J.S.A. 39:4-50 which provides in pertinent part:

f) The counties, in cooperation with the Division of Alcoholism and Drug Abuse and the commission, but subject to the approval of the Division of Alcoholism and Drug Abuse, shall designate and establish on a county or regional basis Intoxicated Driver Resource Centers. These centers shall have the capability of serving as community treatment referral centers and as court monitors of a person’s compliance with the ordered treatment, service alternative or community service. All centers established pursuant to this subsection shall be administered by a counselor certified by the Alcohol and Drug Counselor Certification Board of New Jersey or other professional with a minimum of five years’ experience in the treatment of alcoholism. All centers shall be required to develop individualized treatment plans for all persons attending the centers; provided that the duration of any ordered treatment or referral shall not exceed one year. It shall be the center’s responsibility to establish networks with the community alcohol and drug education, treatment and rehabilitation resources and to receive monthly reports from the referral agencies regarding a person’s participation and compliance with the program. Nothing in this subsection shall bar these centers from developing their own education and treatment programs; provided that they are approved by the Division of Alcoholism and Drug Abuse. Upon a person’s failure to report to the initial screening or any subsequent ordered referral, the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center shall promptly notify the sentencing court of the person’s failure to comply.

Required detention periods at the Intoxicated Driver Resource Centers shall be determined according to the individual treatment classification assigned by the Intoxicated Driving Program Unit. Upon attendance at an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center, a person shall be required to pay a per diem fee of $75.00 for the first offender program or a per diem fee of $100.00 for the second offender program, as appropriate. Any increases in the per diem fees after the first full year shall be determined pursuant to rules and regulations adopted by the Commissioner of Health and Senior Services in consultation with the Governor’s Council on Alcoholism and Drug Abuse pursuant to the “Administrative Procedure Act,” P.L.1968, c. 410.

What Should I Expect While I am at the IDRC?

The IDRC is a program designed to evaluate and provide alcohol and driver education classes to those convicted of drunk driving in New Jersey. In the program, participants attend mandatory alcohol and highway safety education courses. The program also evaluates participants for potential drug and alcohol problems and determines any necessary treatment. If treatment is necessary, the IDRC refers the participant to a provider for a minimum 16-week treatment program. The participant may also supplement any treatment with their own self-help meetings (such as Alcoholics Anonymous (AA)). Finally, the IDRC monitors compliance and reports any issues to the Municipal Court and the Motor Vehicle Commission. The failure to attend IDRC as required by a DWI sentence typically results in jail time.

Call us 24 hours a day, 7 days a week to handle your DWI matter. We can be reached anytime by calling (732) 842-7773. You can also contact us by e-mail for a free consultation.

Client Reviews

The attorneys of The Moriarty Law Firm are the best criminal defense lawyers in New Jersey. I can see how the over 50 years of combined experience between this family led law firm has initiated the consideration by many, as being one of the top law firms in the US. From the moment I called for a...

Jeremy Thomas

Kevin is professional, knowledgeable, compassionate and he gets the job done. Being a legal sceptic (I used to think they were all crooks) Kevin restored my faith in attorneys. If you have a serious matter, you want Kevin to represent you.


I hired Mr. Moriarty for a delicate professional matter and was very happy with the entire experience. Both he and his support staff were easy to deal with and ultimately, we won!


Contact Us

  1. 1 Free Consultation
  2. 2 Available 24/7
  3. 3 All Criminal and Injury Cases
Fill out the contact form or call us at (732) 842-7773 to schedule your free consultation.