Blood Alcohol Content

New Jersey Drinking & Driving Defense Attorneys

At the Moriarty Law Firm, we have been successfully defending clients against DWI/DUI charges throughout Middlesex County, Monmouth County, Ocean County and the rest of New Jersey for decades. Defeating the charges against you is our primary goal, we work hard to beat your case, plain and simple.

If you or someone you know has been charged with a DWI or a DUI in New Jersey, call (732) 842-7773 anytime to speak with one of the Moriartys and schedule a free initial consultation. You can also contact us by e-mail, and we will respond in less than 24 hours.

New Jersey Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) Defense Attorney

The Moriarty Law Firm represents individuals throughout New Jersey charged with driving while intoxicated (DWI), driving under the influence (DUI), and refusal to submit to a breath test. We handle any related traffic or criminal matters as well. Our experienced criminal defense and drunk driving lawyers are available to speak to you regarding your case anytime. Please call (732) 842-7773 for more information.

What Does the Term Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) Mean?

Blood Alcohol Content or Blood Alcohol Concentration (commonly referred to as “BAC”) refers to the amount of alcohol in a driver’s blood, one of the key factors in determining the outcome of a DWI. The Alcotest is used to determine the driver’s BAC.

In New Jersey, any driver’s BAC reading that is .08% or higher is considered intoxication and a violation of the law. If a police officer can establish reasonable suspicion that you have been drinking and driving, you are required to submit to a breath test. If you submit to a breath test and your blood alcohol concentration is .08% or greater, you will be charged with driving while intoxicated (DWI) in New Jersey. Failure to submit to a breath test is considered a “refusal” and may result in a conviction for a DWI in addition to other penalties such as the mandatory installation of an ignition interlock device.

On a first offense, with a BAC between .08% and .10% BAC, the driver is facing a license suspension of three (3) months. On the other hand, if the driver’s BAC is greater than .10% BAC, the driver is facing a license suspension of seven (7) months to one year. Further, even if the driver has a BAC of .00% and the officer believes that he or she is operating under the influence of drugs, the driver may be guilty of driving under the influence (DUI) if the State utilizes a Drug Recognition Expert (DRE) to prove that the driver was driving under the influence of drugs.

Finally, if the driver is under the legal drinking age (21) and has a blood alcohol content (BAC) greater than .00%, the driver is guilty of underage DWI (commonly referred to as a “baby DWI”) in New Jersey. The underage driver may also be charged with adult DWI if the breathalyzer readings are greater than .08% BAC.

By calling (732) 842-7773 or contacting us by email you are taking the first step toward potentially winning your DWI case and preserving your right to drive and your freedom. Call us today, we are standing by.

Client Reviews

The attorneys of The Moriarty Law Firm are the best criminal defense lawyers in New Jersey. I can see how the over 50 years of combined experience between this family led law firm has initiated the consideration by many, as being one of the top law firms in the US. From the moment I called for a...

Jeremy Thomas

Kevin is professional, knowledgeable, compassionate and he gets the job done. Being a legal sceptic (I used to think they were all crooks) Kevin restored my faith in attorneys. If you have a serious matter, you want Kevin to represent you.


I hired Mr. Moriarty for a delicate professional matter and was very happy with the entire experience. Both he and his support staff were easy to deal with and ultimately, we won!


Contact Us

  1. 1 Free Consultation
  2. 2 Available 24/7
  3. 3 All Criminal and Injury Cases
Fill out the contact form or call us at (732) 842-7773 to schedule your free consultation.